Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Award Season has Begun

The Literary Review of London held its annual Bad Sex in Fiction award banquet last night. The prize exists, according to Review editor, Alexander Waugh, "to draw attention to the crude, tasteless often perfunctory use of redundant passages of sexual description in the modern novel, and to discourage it."

Previous winners and shortlistees include distinguished writers Norman Mailer (The Castle in the Forest), John Updike (shortlist), and Tom Wolfe (I am Charlotte Simmons).

This year's nominees were:

Freedom by Jonathan Franzen
The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas
The Golden Mean by Annabel Lyon
The Shape of Her by Rowan Somerville
Maya by Alastair Campbell
A Life Apart by Neel Mukherjee
Heartbreak by Craig Raine
Mr Peanut by Adam Ross

And the winner....
Rowan Somerville for passages from, The Shape of Her.

Mr. Somerville, personally accepted the ward with good grace and humor.

Nowhere but Britain.

No comments: